The cleared section of the wooded slope above the meander of the Ležák stream again exposed a memorial cross directly in the axis of the entrance to the memorial area, thus creating a logical and symbolic peak of the site. Not the chapel, but the view of Ležáky is the dominant feature here. The building itself is hidden. From a distance, all that is visible is a cut in a steep clearing covered with a thick carpet of heather, the view of Ležáky, which from a distance has a formal dialogue with Žák’s original design, at a safe distance, separated by a line of mature trees, in the same material but in contemporary geometry. From here, the visitor’s mind becomes a visitor to the horrific scene that took place here on 24 June 1942.